World Individual Champion 2011

In 2003 young Lukasz Nowacki reached his first cycle speedway world individual final. He came through the qualifiers and got into the final not expecting too much. First final, only second season of serious racing in the UK. On that day I scored 16 points and had a run off with Lee Aris and David Hemsley for the title. The race got stopped and I got an exclusion, Dave went on to win his third world championship crown, and I went home with broken dreams, but also with loads of experience and a bronze medal. Not bad for the first time, I thought… 8 years later, and with another bronze medal along the way in 2009 and with two third places in the Europeans, and one second I finally reached my dream. I am the World Champion. I will not stop here, I promise. I want to defend it in Australia in two years, but what is more important I want to take the most out of it and get the sport on the map. I want to be a good ambassador for the sport and will not waste this time. I would like to thank you all for making this come true. Big thank you to all the sponsors, the clubs I race for or been racing in the past, obviously the fans, all the family and people at work, You all know who you are.

