New.

35. Starting a new life, in a new country. New job, new club, new place to live.

Although everything is familiar, it is a new way of life.

I can now see the difference between life in the UK and Poland. Little frustrations, the way people are, they way they drive, they way they talk and go about their things. When I left the country I was 22 and didn’t have much life experience. I was a young man and couldn’t really see things that I can see now.

It’s going OK though and I am back into the swing of things.

I am happy to be able to ride on Wroclaw’s track, which has seen better days. It is not race ready at all, as it has been quite heavily modified, but training is possible and I am relieved. Gym is back on the agenda and I run as well. My mountain bike gathers dust as I still haven’t found a place to ride, apart from occasional forest exploring in Polanica Zdroj, Magda’s hometown. This might change on Sunday as I have entered an Enduro race at the Sleza mountain, near me. It’s a popular location for mountain bikers and apparently there are plenty of good quality trails. They are opening a singletrack there too.

11071460_10153189769587787_7721658221761773490_n

Cycle speedway is back too. Season started already, and it started with a win. First Indoor Championships in Poland and an impressive win. I have only found out about the event 3 weeks before. Experience was essential. The prize money looks really impressive, but must say, to this day I still haven’t received it and what is more frustrating there is no contact from the organisers and they keep blanking my messages.

Screen Shot 2015-02-28 at 21.51.24

Outdoor season starts in 3 weeks for me, and I am happy to announce I will be riding for Slask Swietochlowice. The club is very well organised and has a promising, young team. Why the change? Simply, distance to Torun is far too big. I have a 4 hr drive to Torun, it only takes 1,45 to Swietochlowice. Considering I am doing 6 day weeks at work, time is precious. I am still due to be riding for Horspath It’s likely to be all 10 Elite matches. I’m also planning to ride in the Worlds. Schedule of it made it quite complicated though. Spreading the qualifiers over two weekends is good if you have a school break and going for the whole duration of the Championships. I only want to do the individuals and it made it tricky at work to get two weekends off. Hope I can pull it off.

I want to keep writing this blog. Last year was a tough season, and I rarely updated the side. Motivation is back and I hope to find some time to write.

